Tora Hsu
Artistic Director

Born in 1985, Tora Hsu is a Taiwan-based theatre director, playwright and artist. He is the artistic director and co-founder of 4 CHAIRS THEATRE whose main interest lies in devising theatre and contemporary plays. During his studies at the National Taiwan University of Arts, he staged The Monument, a play written by Canadian playwright Colleen Wagner, which eventually won seven awards at the Golden Lion Award of Student Competition, including Best Director and Best Production. In 2007, upon graduating from college, Hsu and his production team founded the theatre group 4 CHAIRS THEATRE, of which he has been the artistic director.

In 2009, Tora Hsu wrote and directed Waiting for What!?, which went on to win the Audience’s Choice Award and Best Space Design at the Taipei Fringe Festival and was invited to the 2010 Taipei Arts Festival. From 2012 to 2013, he studied devising/collaborative theatre at the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama in London, and obtained M.A. in Advanced Theatre Practice. During his European years, Hsu was selected to attend Thomas Ostermeier’s masterclass, a coveted event taught by the internationally renowned German director at the International Theatre Festival of Venice Biennale in 2013.

Since 2015, Tora Hsu has collaborated with playwright CHIEN Li-Ying to seek contemporary voices and stories. They launched the Rewriting Classics Project and co-created works such as Ok, My Dear Sisters (2015) based on Anton Chekhov’s Three Sisters and We Are Ghosts (2017), an adaptation of Henrik Ibsen’s Ghosts. Their Dress in Code in 2016 was widely acclaimed by the audience and the art industry. The 2017 collaboration The Possible Memoirs of a Traitor, produced and directed by HSU and written by CHIEN, was invited to the Taiwan International Festival of Arts (TIFA) at the National Theater & Concert Hall. Hsu and 4 CHAIRS THEATRE have been invited to some of the most influential art festivals and theaters in Taiwan and received multiple nominations at the Taishin Arts Award.